#### **FAQs**

## New Jersey Medical Examination for Bus Drivers Aged 70 or older (Pursuant to New Jersey Law N.J. S. A. 39:3-10.1)

1. Who must submit to a New Jersey medical examination?

Bus drivers with a school bus (S) endorsement who are **70 to 74** years of age must submit to an annual State of New Jersey Medical Examination. Bus drivers with a school bus (S) endorsement who are **75 years of age and older** must submit to a State of New Jersey medical examination every 6 months.

2. Do I still have to get my federal Medical Examiner's Certificate?

Yes. The federal Medical Examiner's Certificate (MEC) is still required under federal and New Jersey regulations. The New Jersey medical examination is an additional requirement under New Jersey law for school bus drivers 70 years of age and older.

3. I just submitted my federal Medical Examiner's Certificate; will that cover the New Jersey requirement?

No. You still must undergo an additional New Jersey examination to fulfill the new requirement under New Jersey law.

4. What is the difference between the federal Medical Examiner's Certificate and the New Jersey Medical Examination Form?

A federally certified medical examiner must perform a medical examination and complete the MEC for all commercial driver license (CDL) holders and CDL drivers must submit the MEC to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJMVC). The New Jersey Medical Examination Form (<a href="http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/pdf/business/NJDR-15.pdf">http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/pdf/business/NJDR-15.pdf</a>) is required for school bus drivers 70 years of age and older. The form must be completed by a licensed medical doctor or an osteopathic physician and the Medical Doctor or Osteopathic Physician Evaluation page must be kept on file with the school bus driver's employer. The New Jersey Medical Examination Form does not replace the federal MEC. Both are required.

5. I am 70 years old and I just received notification to submit a New Jersey Medical Examination Form to my employer within 45 days of receipt of the notice. I will turn 71

#### years old 60 days from the date of the notice. Will I need another examination when I turn 71?

No. This examination will fulfill the requirements for the current year. Your next New Jersey examination will be required by June 1, 2020.

If you are 74 years old and will be turning 75 years old on or before June 1, 2019, that initial examination will fulfill the requirement for your **first 6 month examination** for drivers 75 years of age and older. You will need to undergo another examination 6 months later.

### 6. Do I submit the Medical Doctor or Osteopathic Physician Evaluation page of the New Jersey Medical Examination Form to the NJMVC?

No. You must provide the Medical Doctor or Osteopathic Physician Evaluation page to your employer and the employer must keep it in your employment file for the term of your employment.

#### 7. Can the doctor who completed my federal examination also complete my New Jersey examination?

Yes, provided he or she is a licensed medical doctor or osteopathic physician. A report must be completed for the State examination <u>and</u> the MEC must be completed for the federal examination.

# 8. I am 69 years old and will not turn 70 years old until March 1, 2020. Must I submit the New Jersey Medical Examination Form to maintain my school bus (S) endorsement to drive a school bus this year?

No. However, beginning at age 70, you must annually provide proof of continuing physical fitness to your employer by submitting the Medical Doctor or Osteopathic Physician Evaluation page of the New Jersey Medical Examination Form completed by a licensed medical doctor or osteopathic physician. At age 75, you must submit to State examination every 6 months and provide your employer with a current, <u>fully complete</u>, Medical Doctor or Osteopathic Physician Evaluation page from the New Jersey Medical Examination Form.